DUI Information

If you or a loved one is under investigation or facing a DUI or DUI-related charge, contact the Arizona DUI attorneys at the Schill Law Group immediately. Arizona’s DUI laws are some of the toughest in the nation, and you will need proper legal representation to ensure that your rights are protected and you receive the best legal defense possible.

At Schill Law Group, we have a team of highly experienced Arizona DUI attorneys that will investigate every aspect of your case, looking for any procedures not properly followed by law enforcement or other factors that could lead to charges being reduced or dropped entirely.

Schedule Your Consultation

What constitutes a DUI in Arizona?

The state of Arizona has a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to drinking and driving. As such, it has some of the toughest DUI laws in the nation–even for first-time offenders. As a driver, you can be charged with a DUI if you are driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of greater than 0.08 or are driving with a drug in your system that is listed in Arizona state law §13-3401. In addition to this, drivers of commercial vehicles can be charged with a DUI if their BAC is greater than 0.04.

(480) 525-8900

First time offenders:

If convicted of a DUI for your first time, you may face penalties including:

  • Less than 10 days in jail
  • Minimum fine of $250
  • Community service
  • Additional charges and fees to the prison construction and operation fund, or to the public safety equipment fund
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • A DUI misdemeanor charge on your record

Second DUIs:

Because the police and courts in Arizona take DUIs so seriously, a second offense is subject to even harsher penalties. If you’re facing a second DUI, you need the best Arizona DUI attorneys working for you. If you receive two DUI convictions within a seven-year period, you could face consequences such as:

  • A minimum of 90 days in jail. This is dependent on your BAC. Those with a BAC between .15 and .199 may be subject to a minimum of 120 days, while those with a BAC above .2 may be required to serve a mandatory minimum of 180 days in jail.
  • A minimum of $500 in fines and up to $2500 in fines, plus additional surcharges
  • A higher number of community service hours
  • The loss of your license for one year
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device once driving privileges are restored
  • Drug/alcohol evaluations and treatment
  • A second DUI misdemeanor charge on your record

Aggravated or Felony DUIs:

In extreme cases, a DUI may be upgraded from a misdemeanor to a felony, known as an “aggravated DUI.” This type of felony charge means harsher penalties than that of a typical DUI case. As such, it is critical that you seek out legal representation from the lawyers at the Schill Law Group immediately if you have been charged with an aggravated DUI. The Arizona DUI attorneys at The Schill Law Group are well versed in all areas of Arizona DUI law. Every DUI attorney on our team is a former police officer and one is a former judge as well. Our DUI team has over 100 years of combined DUI experience, and we have represented well over 5,000 DUIs for clients in Arizona.

A misdemeanor DUI charge can be upgraded to an aggravated DUI if the following circumstances are present:

  • The driver was using a suspended or revoked license.
  • The driver has two prior DUI convictions within a period of the last seven years.
  • The driver either violated or circumvented an ignition interlock requirement.
    When these circumstances exist surrounding a DUI arrest, the driver may be charged with a Class 4 Felony DUI. Also, this is not the only class of felony that a DUI defendant can be faced with. A driver may be charged with a Class 6 Felony DUI if the DUI was committed while a minor under the age of 15 was in the vehicle.

Class 4 and Class 6 DUI felonies carry additional penalties. Our experienced Arizona DUI attorneys prepare every case as if it is going to trial. As such, we charge only one flat fee to handle the whole DUI case all the way through trial. Your fee never increases, even if you want to exercise your constitutional right to a jury trial. At the Schill Law Group, our attorneys prepare the case by interviewing you, the client, in depth. Our DUI attorneys also interview the police officers or sheriff deputies involved in the case, and any other witnesses. Our DUI attorneys are knowledgeable in all areas of forensic science including blood, breath and urine testing methods, and we use our experience to give you every advantage possible in court.

If you or a loved one is under investigation or facing a DUI or DUI-related charge, contact us immediately. DUI charges are serious, especially in Arizona, so don’t face them alone. Get in touch with the Arizona DUI attorneys at the Schill Law Group today at (480) 525-8900 for a free evaluation of your DUI case.

For more information on the different categories of DUIs, click on the links below:

Driving under the Influence (DUI) .08 or above

DUI .15 or above

DUI .20 or above

Collateral Consequences

Underage Drinking & Driving