Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a serious offense and can result in auto accidents that cause injury, property damage, or even death. The state of Arizona takes DUI crimes very seriously. If you are charged with a DUI, it is extremely important that you retain a qualified Scottsdale DUI attorney to provide you with professional legal advice and representation right away. If you are convicted of a DUI in Arizona you could face very stiff penalties which can include jail time, the loss of your driving privileges, the mandatory use of ignition interlock devices, and more – even for a first-time offense. Because of these possible consequences, it is essential that you don’t go at it alone in the courtroom or try to represent yourself. Instead, you need to talk to a Scottsdale DUI attorney at Schill Law Group to begin strategizing, start mapping out the details of your case, and building a strong defense today.
Schedule a free consultation today by calling (480) 525-8900
You may not be aware that the state of Arizona has a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to drinking and driving, and Arizona has some of the toughest DUI laws in the nation. As a driver, you can be charged with a DUI if you are driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of greater than 0.08 or are driving with a drug in your system that is listed in section 13-3401. In addition, drivers of commercial vehicles can be charged with a DUI if their BAC is greater than 0.04. If convicted of a DUI for your first time, you may face penalties including:
- Minimum fine of $250
- Less than 10 days in jail
- Community service
- Additional charges and fees to the prison construction and operation fund, or to the public safety equipment fund
- Installation of an ignition interlock device
- A DUI misdemeanor charge on your record
If you’re arrested a second time for DUI penalties are even harsher, starting with a minimum of 90 days in jail. Depending on your blood alcohol level at the time of your arrest, the penalty could start with a minimum of 120 or even 180 days in jail. An event like this can be devastating, even life changing. Even though a second DUI arrest is usually still handled as a misdemeanor, a second arrest could mean the loss of employment, damaged relationships, and economic hardship, to name just a few possible consequences.
Aggravating circumstances that can upgrade a DUI to a felony charge include:
- DUI while under license suspension for a previous DUI (class 4 felony)
- Third DUI within 84 months (class 4 felony)
- DUI in violation of an ignition interlock requirement (class 4 felony)
- DUI while a minor under 15 is in the vehicle (class 6 felony)
In addition, if there was an accident involving serious injuries or fatalities, the driver may face additional felony charges such as assault or manslaughter. One of the most common charges is vehicular endangerment, which is defined as “recklessly endangering another person with a substantial risk of imminent death or physical injury.” This is a very serious charge, and one you do not want to face alone. If you’ve been charged with a felony DUI, you need to call Schill Law Group’s Scottsdale DUI attorneys today.
At Schill Law Group, you’re much more than just a number to us. We believe in building personal relationships with each of our DUI clients, because we understand everyone’s situation is unique. We are committed to taking the time to understand your individual case and working with you to build a defense that is customized to your circumstances. Our Scottsdale DUI attorneys are compassionate, hardworking, and dedicated to helping every client achieve a favorable resolution to their case.
We’re very proud to be listed as a Top DUI and DWI Attorney firm in Scottsdale, and we look forward to assisting you with your legal needs. When you want the professional DUI attorney clients trust more than any other Arizona DUI legal team, contact us at (480) 525-8900, and let Schill Law Group ensure that you get the best possible representation available today.